Four Common Questions About DWI Arrests in New York
A drunk driving conviction has the potential to negatively affect your entire life. However, with the advice of an experienced attorney, you may have the opportunity to put this mistake behind you. Here are four common questions about DWI arrests in New York and how you can help protect your rights.
What Should I Do After Getting Pulled Over?
If you are pulled over for a suspected DWI, always remember that the police officer is just doing their job. Make sure to comply with any of the officer’s requests. You have to acknowledge if you have been drinking but try to avoid any admission of how much you have had to drink.
What if I Refuse to Take a Breathalyzer Test?
You always have the right to refuse the breathalyzer test. However, if you do, your license will automatically be suspended for one year. There will be a $500 fine for a first offense, and a $750 fine for a second offense. Your license will be taken away before you are able to attend trial in court.
What Is the No-Tolerance Law in New York State?
The no-tolerance law applies to drivers under the age of 21 and essentially means the .08 BAC legal limit does not apply—any amount of alcohol in your system will result in a DUI. Your license will be suspended for at least six months, or until you reach the age of 21. There are no exceptions to this rule, nor do you qualify to receive a temporary license.
What Should I Do if I Am Asked to Take a Breathalyzer?
If you are pulled over and asked to take a breathalyzer, take into consideration how much you have had to drink over the past two to five hours. Do not take the breathalyzer unless you are absolutely sure that you are going to pass it. There are a variety of criminal consequences that come with failing the test.
If you have any more questions about DWI arrests in New York, please contact experienced Buffalo criminal defense attorney Randy H. Gugino for expert legal advice.